Weight Loss Journey

As I said in my last post, I lost a bunch of weight this year so far. I’ve always been a big guy, but I kept letting myself go, little by little, and got up to an outrageous weight. It was actually causing me to have pain in my feet (plantar fasciitis) and left knee. Yet this didn’t cause me to make the necessary changes in my life. My birthday was Feb 27th, and some of my friends decided to ‘surprise’ me by taking me out to a local strip club. Not really my type of thing (as I always say, I don’t go to a restaurant to LOOK at food, I go there to eatya heard?), but fair enough. The place in question is called the Mardi Gras.

They have an interesting bar, as there are catwalks where ‘performers’ can walk and do their thing with the customer, while not disturbing the bartender taking your order. I was uncomfortable already, but I noticed that there were mirrors surrounding the walls all around the bar. I looked at some people in the mirrors, then I noticed someone that I didn’t recognize… it was ME!! I was so upset that I immediately left. I know I acted poorly because I didn’t even stop to tell my friends who took me there that I appreciated what they did, but that I had to go. Totally my fault.

That was the point where I decided that I had to do something. My highest point was 345 lbs. before I stopped weighing myself because I would have been even more depressed than I already was. I found a fantastic site online called www.nutritiondata.com, where you can enter your vitals and exercise schedule, and it will give you ‘guidelines’ for how much you should be eating, and then you can actually track your diet there! It breaks down
everything you could ask for. Just load up your ‘virtual pantry’ and start tracking! It has been an invaluable tool in my weight loss.

I’m not going to lie.. it has been tough. You have to have willpower to make the decision to change your eating habits and stick to those convictions. There are times I felt I was dying of hunger, but I would only eat enough to temporarily satisfy my growlings. Drinking water during those times helped too, but here’s how I’ve done it so far:

Watch your portion sizes! Having a chicken breast at home is a lot different than getting a chicken meal at Chili’s or the 99 Restaurant!!

Avoid:
Bread, Pasta, Rice, and Potato!! If you have to have bread, make it with as much whole wheat as possible. No french fries, no potato chips, no pasta, or pastries. They carry WAY more calories than you think, and don’t give you great nutrition. (There’s a reason you can survive on bread and water alone).

Supplements:
1 Fish Oil Pill, 1 low dose aspirin, 2 Schiff ‘Move Free’ glucosamine and chondroitin pills. Take them with a glass of water.

Breakfast:
1-2 scrambled eggs and 2 slices of bacon OR
a bowl of Special K Protein Plus cereal OR
a bowl of any of the Fiber One Cereals
with V8 VFusion Light OR some POM pomegranate juice

Mid Morning:
1 FiberOne Chocolate and Oats bar OR a South Beach Living Protein Bar
20 oz. Water

Lunch:
6″ Subway Ham and Swiss on Wheat with Tomato, Onion, Banana Pepper, Jalapeno, Roasted Peppers, and Spicy Mustard
Any flavor Vitamin Water

Mid Afternoon:
See Mid Morning

Dinner:
Check your tracking, see what you should fill (more carb? more fiber? more protein?)
and fill it but try to stay under 2000 cals.

Other:
After going to the gym and working out, I’ve bought Body Fortress Whey Protein. I like the Vanilla flavor the best, because it mixes well with most other flavors (like blueberries). Just throw in a scoop with some milk and/or water and blend it up.

I also have been working out, doing a good bit of low impact cardio, and lifting weights.
So far, I’ve lost 65+ lbs. You can see what I looked like before and after below.


As I said before… it hasn’t always been easy, but it’s been well worth it. I haven’t had to go through the gastric by-pass surgery, or lap-band surgery, or any other surgery. You just have to make it a priority in your life and stick by it. You DO have to give yourself a little ‘treat’ here and there to keep yourself on target and give you motivation to keep going (ex: a small ice cream after a good week, or a piece of pizza).

One thought on “Weight Loss Journey

Leave a Reply

